Worm salad

I was looking through an old Halloween issue of Taste Of Home and I came across this recipe. I thought it looked like something that the kids would enjoy, and with a little tweaking this ended up being something that we all enjoyed. The ingredients are:

  • 8 oz. uncooked bucatini pasta or thick spaghetti (I used spaghetti)
  • 1/2 Cup hoisin sauce (the hoisin sauce was a little overpowering so I would use less)
  • 1/3 Cup rice vinegar
  • 3 T. orange juice concentrate (I didn’t have o.j. concentrate so I used 4 T. fresh o.j.)
  • 3 T. soy sauce
  • 1 T. sesame oil
  • 4 oz. fresh snow peas (I had sugar snap peas so I used them)
  • 1/2 Cup julienned carrot
  • 1 small onion, cut into thin wedges (I had fresh green onions from our garden so I used that instead)
  • 1 T. canola oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  1. Break the bucatini (or spaghetti) into thirds; cook according to package directions.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk hoisin sauce, vinegar, orange juice concentrate, soy sauce and sesame oil. Drain pasta. It says in the recipe to add the pasta to the hoisin sauce mixture, but I put the pasta in a bowl and then added the sauce mixture to the pasta a little at a time to taste. I did not use it all and I’m glad I did it this way because I think it would have tasted to strong and overpowering for the kids. Toss the pasta and sauce and set aside.
  3. In a large skillet, saute peas, carrot and onion in canola oil for 2 minutes. Add garlic; saute 2 minutes longer or until crisp tender (I added my green onion with the garlic). Add to pasta mixture toss to coat. Serve warm or chilled. (You could make this dish more hardy by adding chicken or shrimp. I didn’t this time but I think I will next time.

With the changes I made , the kids really ended up liking this recipe. I think that they even liked it more than I did. Considering taste and that it is fun for the season I give this recipe a 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

