Apple Crunch Muffins

I made these Apple Crunch Muffins this morning for breakfast and Oh My Goodness are they good! I can’t believe that this recipe has been lying in my bin of recipes to try for 7 years! Everyone really enjoyed them. They are moist with the perfect amount of apple and cinnamon taste. Not to mention they made my house smell heavenly. I’m so glad I finally tried this recipe and I will definitely be making them again!

The ingredients are:

  • 1 1/2 Cups Flour
  • 1/2 Cup Sugar
  • 2 t. Baking Powder
  • 1/2 t. Salt
  • 1 1/2 t. Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/4 Cup Vegetable Shortening (I used butter flavored)
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/2 Cup Milk
  • 1 Cup Tart Apples, unpeeled and shredded

Topping:

  • 1/4 Cup Brown Sugar (packed)
  • 1/2 t. Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/4 Cup Chopped Pecans (Optional, I did not use)

Mix all together and set aside.

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon into mixing bowl.
  3. Cut in shortening with pastry blender until fine crumbs form.
  4. Combine egg and milk. add to dry ingredients, stirring just enough to moisten. Stir in apples.
  5. Spoon batter into paper lined muffin cups, filling 2/3 full. (I was able to fill 11 cups) Sprinkle with crunch topping.
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden.
  7. Serve warm with butter.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

