Bacon wrapped smokies

Hello all! Hopefully everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving. I know I sure did. Being around my family warms my heart an lifts my spirits……. Now that Thanksgiving has come and gone, we now have Christmas on the horizon. More gatherings and parties coming up.

I wanted to share this recipe for Bacon wrapped smokies. It is the perfect recipe for an appetizer or as an addition to a brunch. I received this recipe from a family friend a few years ago and have made it many, many times since. This recipe is so simple with only 3 ingredients, you can whip it up in a flash. The brown sugar carmelizes on the bacon and sausage and the combination creates a wonderful sweet and salty taste. Everyone loves these bacon wrapped goodies and they are normally the first to disappear off of the buffet table.

This recipe is great for anyone. My Aunt who does not like to cook or to follow recipes called me and told me her neighborhood was getting together for a potluck and did I have any ideas for what she could bring. Knowing my Aunt I knew this would be the perfect recipe for her. She made them with no problem and everyone loved them….

The ingredients are:

  • 1 lb. of bacon
  • large package of smokies
  • Brown sugar (about 1 cup)
  • Toothpicks
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Cut your slab of bacon into thirds.
  3. Place a smoky on the piece of bacon and wrap. Secure with the toothpick.
  4. Place on a baking sheet and sprinkle generously with brown sugar.
  5. Bake in oven for 35-45 minutes. The bacon should be golden brown.

I’m sorry if this recipe is vague. This is how it was explained to us and it has turned out great every time. You can adjust as needed. If we are having a large group we double this recipe. Enjoy!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

