Brie Cherry Pastry Cups

This is the second appetizer I made last night for our families dinner night. These little pastry cups are delicious! I put them out on a platter to serve and they were gone in seconds (clearly I did not make enough, next time I will double the recipe). The cherry preserves are sweet, the brie is smooth and mild and tames down the sweetness of the preserves, and the chives give it that touch of savory that just pulls it all together into the perfect little appetizer. Everyone loved this recipe! The kids were watching me prepare these and they asked me if I could make some of them without the brie and chives because they didn’t like brie and chives. I did as they asked and guess which ones they were eating……… The ones with brie and chives! Not only were these delicious but they were very pretty and festive looking with the red and green colors. These would make the perfect Christmas appetizer!

I got the recipe out of an old christmas issue of Taste Of Home. They won first place in their appetizer recipe contest and I definitely know why!

The ingredients are:

  • 1 sheet frozen puff pastry, thawed
  • 1/2 Cup Cherry preserves
  • 4 oz. Brie or Camembert cheese, cut into 1/2-in. cubes
  • 1/4 Cup chopped pecans or walnuts ( I did not use but will try with nuts next time)
  • 2 Tbsp. minced chives

Unfold puff pastry, cut into 36 squares ( I used my pizza wheel slicer to cut the dough, it worked great). Gently press squares onto the bottoms of 36 miniature muffin cups coated with cooking spray.

Bake at 375 for 10 minutes. Using the end of a wooden spoon handle, make a 1/2-in. deep indentation in the center of each. Bake 6-8 minutes longer or until golden brown. With spoon handle, press squares down again.

Spoon a rounded 1/2 teaspoonful of preserves into each cup. Top with cheese; sprinkle with nuts and chives. Bake for 3-5 minutes or until cheese is melted.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

