Chicken Adobo

The second book I chose out of my collection of cookbooks is How To Cook Everything By Mark Bittman. I don’t know about everyone else but when I get a cookbook I get little paper page tabbies and put one on every recipe that I want to eventually try. I have about 90 tabbies sticking out of this book! So needless to say there are a lot of good-looking recipes that I want to try. The recipe that I chose to try first is a recipe for Chicken Adobo. I don’t know if this is a classic Chicken Adobo recipe. I’ve had Chicken Adobo before and it wasn’t finished off on the grill. Never the less I really liked the char that the grill gave the chicken and it still had great flavor from poaching in the sauce. My kids really liked this recipe they both finished their plates without any coaxing from mom and kept dunking their chicken in the extra sauce saying this is yummy.

This was a good start for this book and it makes me want to keep trying the other recipes. I’ll let you know when I try another one but for now here are the ingredients for Chicken Adobo.

  • 1 cup soy sauce (I used reduced sodium)
  • 1/2 cup white or rice vinegar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 Tablespoon chopped garlic
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 whole (3-4 pound) chicken, cut up (legs cut in two), trimmed of excess fat, then rinsed and patted dry with paper towels; or use 2 pounds bone-in thighs (I used bone-in thighs)
  1. Combine the first six ingredients in a covered pot large enough to hold the chicken in one layer. Bring to a boil over high heat. Add the chicken; reduce the heat to medium-low and cook, covered, for about 30 minutes, turning once or twice. (You may prepare the recipe in advance up to this point; refrigerate the chicken, in the liquid, for up to a day before proceeding.)
  2. Start a charcoal or wood fire or preheat a gas grill or broiler. The fire need not be too hot, but place the rack just 3 or 4 inches from the heat source.
  3. Remove the chicken and dry it gently with paper towels. Boil the sauce over high heat until it is reduced to about 1 cup; discard bay leaves and keep the sauce warm. Meanwhile, grill or broil the chicken until brown and crisp, about 5 minutes per side. Serve the chicken with the sauce and white rice.
Leave a Reply

