Old-Fashioned Rice Custard

 

 

 

 

I have always been a fan of rice pudding. So when I came across this recipe in a cookbook (Taste of Home’s Contest Winning Annual Recipes 2006) I knew that I wanted to try it. I am so glad that I did because this rice custard was delicious!!! It was perfectly sweet and rich. By far the best rice pudding/custard that I have ever had! I had my Aunt and kids over for dinner and this is what I served for dessert. Everyone loved it and polished it off in seconds. As a matter of fact I think next time I will try to double the recipe.

I adapted the recipe just slighty to our tastes.

The ingredients are:

  • 1/2 cup uncooked long-grain rice
  • 4 cups milk, divided
  • 1/4 cup butter (use real butter, don’t skimp)
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  1. In the top of a double boiler, combine rice and 2 cups milk. Cook, stirring occasionally, over boiling water until rice is tender and most of the water has evaporated, about 45-50 minutes. Stir in butter.
  2. In a mixing bowl, beat eggs; blend in sugar, vanilla, salt and remaining milk. Stir into the hot rice mixture. Pour into a lightly greased 2-qt. casserole and top with cinnamon. Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes or until firm. Serves 6-8

 

3 responses

Leave a Reply

