Pride of Iowa cookies

I got this cookie recipe from a friend about 8 years ago and I’m just now making them for the first time…. I needed to make a dessert for our families sunday dinner, but I needed to find a recipe that had no dairy (my grandma has dairy allergies). That’s not an easy task, most baked goods have some sort of dairy whether it be milk or butter. So when I came across this recipe and saw that it was made with shortening and no milk I thought I would give it a try……I was very pleased with the results. The cookies were chewy and delicious! Everyone loved them including my grandma….. My next task will be to find a yummy gluten-free dessert recipe, both my nephew and my friend’s daughter have gluten issues. (I have a strange feeling that this is going to be a harder task, we will have to see) The ingredients for the cookies are:

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp.Baking soda
  • 1 tsp. Baking powder
  • 1 cup coconut
  • 2 cups oats
  • 1 cup finely chopped walnuts
  1. Cream together the first 5 ingredients. Add the dry ingredients. Drop by spoonfuls on cookie sheets. Bake for 10-12 minutes at 350 degrees.

3 responses

  1. I hope you both enjoy the cookies as much as we did. I also have a cookie recipe for Minnesota Munchers now I’m going to have to come up with a delicious cookie that represents my state. I’m already thinking the name could be California Crunchers or The Golden Californian LOL!

Leave a Reply

