Sheepherder’s Breakfast

 

Let me start this post by saying I’m not a big breakfast eater. I am 100% content with having a bowl of oatmeal or cereal in the morning, as a matter of fact I prefer it… My husband on the other hand is the complete opposite. Even though he will have the occasional bowl of oatmeal with me he definitely prefers a big hearty hot breakfast. So when I saw this recipe in my Taste of Home’s Contest Winning Annual Recipes 2006 Cookbook I knew this would be something he would love! Potato, Bacon, Egg, and Cheese how can you go wrong, right……Not only did he love it , the kids and I really enjoyed it too.

The ingredients are:

  • 1 pound sliced bacon, diced
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 32 oz. frozen shredded hash brown potatoes, thawed
  • 5-6 eggs ( the recipe called for 10 eggs but we didn’t need that many)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 cups (8 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese, optional
  • Chopped fresh parsley
  1. In a large skillet, cook bacon and onion until bacon is crisp. Drain the drippings, reserving 1/2 cup. Add hash browns and reserved drippings to skillet: mix well.
  2. Cook over medium heat for 10 minutes, turnings when browned. Make 5-6 wells (however many eggs you are using) evenly spaced in the hash browns. Place one egg in each well. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Sprinkle with cheese if desired.
  3. Cover and cook over low heat for about 10 minutes or until eggs are set. Garnish with parsley; serve immediately.

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

