Oriental Fried Chicken

 

 

I was looking through my cookbooks for another book to try, when I came across this little spiral bound cookbook titled World Wide Recipes. I flipped through it a bit and decided this would be my next book. It is filled with all kinds of different recipes from all kinds of different ethnicities. I can’t wait to try so many of the recipes. The flavor combinations in this little book are endless. The first recipe that I tried is a recipe from Japan, for Oriental Fried Chicken. These little chicken wings had big flavor, perfectly seasoned. I’m not normally a chicken skin person, most of the time I peel it off. Not this time! The skin was deliciously crunchy and I ate every bit of it…. This recipe was very easy to prepare. Set aside the two hours to marinade (It doesn’t need any longer, the flavor was perfect), fry and serve. I made some sautéed veggies and white rice to go with the wings and we ate it for dinner, but you could also serve them as an appetizer. It says that it serves 8-10 people but there was only 5 of us and we polished off every single one.

The ingredients are:

  • 3 1/2 pounds chicken wings
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon salt
  • 5 Tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tablespoons green onions, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ginger, grated
  • oil for deep-frying
  1. Cut off the tips of the chicken wings, then cut the wings apart, set aside.
  2. Combine all other ingredients in a large bowl, mix well. Add chicken wings and marinate for at least 2 hours. Stir every so often.
  3. Heat oil in a large pan or wok. Deep fry chicken wings about 8-10 minutes, until outside is golden brown and inside is cooked.

 

8 responses

Leave a Reply

