Raspberry Coconut Cookies

 

 

I’m always on the lookout for lactose free desserts because my grandmother has allergies to dairy. I hate showing up to a family gathering with something she can’t eat. If I do make something that does have dairy then I try to also bring something that she can have. This last Saturday we had a BBQ over at my Aunts house and I brought these cookies for my grandma. These Raspberry Coconut Cookies were very good. They are soft and yummy with the raspberry filling. As a matter of fact my son was so disappointed to find out that there wasn’t one left to put in his lunch today! I found the recipe in one of my Taste of Home Cooking School magazines.

The ingredients are:

  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 6 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1-1/2 cups plus 2 Tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 Cup flaked coconut
  • 1/3 cup seedless raspberry jam
  1. In a large bowl, cream shortening and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg, water and extract. Combine the flour, salt and baking soda; gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well. Stir in coconut (dough will be sticky).
  2. Set aside 2/3 cup dough; roll remaining dough into 1-in. balls. Place 2 in. apart on ungreased baking sheets. Using the end of a wooden spoon handle, make a 3/8-in. deep indention in the center of each ball. Fill each with 1/2 teaspoon jam. Cover jam with a teaspoon of reserved dough; seal and reshape into a ball (I didn’t pick dough balls back up to reshape. I just patted dough over the raspberry filling sealing the dough as best as I could). Repeat.
  3. Bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned. Remove to wire racks to cool.

 

8 responses

  1. I’m curious as to why shortening is used instead of butter? Do you happen to know what the difference is between the two in baking? These look fantastic, though! I might just have to give them a try!

    • I’m so very far from an expert baker, so maybe someone else could answer better than I. I do know that when I do bake cookies with butter they tend to turn out a little flatter and crisper but have a wonderful rich flavor. It seems that a lot of older recipies use shortening. When I’m baking for my grandma I can’t use butter as she has allergies to it. That is why I chose these cookies with shortening. I don’t think I answered your question, but if you don’t like shortening you could always try and substitute it.

Leave a Reply

