Cream Cheese Sheet Cake

The family got together for a wonderful Mothers Day BBQ to honor all of our wonderful Mommies. My grandmother being the first, my mother and aunts being next and then me! It was a great day with lots of delicious food (of course)! I woke up mothers day morning wanting to bake, so I made three desserts to take to the BBQ. This Cream Cheese Sheet Cake was one of them. The cake was so moist and the thin layer of chocolate frosting was perfect! I got the recipe out of my Taste of Home’s Contest Winning Annual Recipes 2006.

The ingredients are:

  • 1 cup plus 2 Tablespoons butter, softened
  • 6 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 2-1/4 cups sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2-1/4 cups cake flour

Frosting:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup evaporated milk
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  1. In a mixing bowl, cream butter, cream cheese and sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Add flour; mix well. Pour into a greased 15-in. x 11-in. baking pan. Bake at 325 degrees for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool completely.
  2. For frosting, combine sugar and milk in a saucepan; bring to a boil over medium heat. Cover and cook for 3 minutes (do not stir). Stir in butter and chocolate chips until melted. Cool slightly. Stir; spread over cake.

Yield: 24-30 servings

35 responses

  1. I made the cream cheese sheets cake today….I have never had anything like it!!!<3 the texture was better than a Sara Lee Pound Cake. It also has what I consider "endless possibilities" as a base for other frostings or favors! Let me also warn you its not diet or low fat friendly.

  2. Made this cake for the first time today. It was a hit at the family get together. I had to make it with all purpose flour so I am interested to know the difference when using cake flour.

    • You could try but the cake itself is pretty rich, I don’t know if that would be too much. If you try it let me know how it turns out. The cream cheese definitely gives this cake a different taste and texture.

  3. I made this for the first time today. I have never made a cake from scratch. Im so happy how it turn out. Definitely will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing:-)

  4. Pingback: Cream Cheese Sheet Cake | CookiesCakesPiesOhMy

  5. Made this tonight, very rich, it makes a lot and should only be served a small piece. My kids loved it, but I felt it was too rich for my taste. I will make it again, though… 🙂

  6. I made it and just subsituted fat free evaporated milk and fat free cream cheese. I also used I cant believe its not butter light. It made it only 136 calories per slice. I cut 30 servings. It was delicious!

  7. I made this and used fat free ingredients when I could. Light butter and fat free cream cheese and fat free evaporated milk. Made this only 136 calories per slice if you cut 30 servings. It was delicious!

  8. This cake truly is yummy! I didn’t have a 15×11 so I went ahead and made it in a 13×9 and only used about 3/4 of the batter, and made the rest into 6 additional cupcakes. Both turned out great! The 13×9 baked at 325 for about 32-34 minutes, and the cupcakes for about 25. Thanks so much for posting this recipe! Cheers!

  9. Thanks for the recipe! I added 2 teaspoons of baking powder because I never made a cake that didn’t have baking powder and salt added to it! It was very, very good! It came out of the oven at 10:30 last night and we all had a piece and this morning when I got up there’s only a little bit left! Wow!

  10. Pingback: Recipe Review: Cream Cheese Sheet Cake | Online Review Blog

Leave a Reply

