Strawberry Picking

We took the kids to the Carlsbad Strawberry fields to pick our own strawberries this past weekend! We had such a great day. The weather was beautiful, the sun was out but the breeze from the ocean was cool. The strawberries were big, red, and delicious, the red stains on the kids finger tips and mouths were proof of that. I think the kids picked one for their bucket then one for their mouth, so even though the cost was $8.75 a bucket we got our monies worth! We held a contest to see who could find the biggest, reddest, juiciest strawberry but there were so many that I don’t think we ever decided on a winner. Hopefully we made memories that the kids wont soon forget, I still remember my mom taking me when I was little. With all of our yummy strawberries we tried two new recipes, one for a strawberry pie and one for strawberry ice. Will post pictures and recipes next!

My son reaching for a good one!

3 responses

  1. I wish there was enough left to can, but after the strawberry ice and the strawberry pie and of course all the picking in between, we had none left. Oh well I guess we will have to go back 🙂

Leave a Reply

