Strawberry Ice

 

Alright, I know, this picture is horrible! It is not easy trying to take a picture of  delicate Strawberry Ice on a hot day! In a few more minutes my Strawberry Ice was going to be strawberry soup. I contemplated even sharing this recipe since I didn’t like how any of the pictures turned out (does anyone else do that or is it just me), but this recipe for Strawberry Ice was so good that I had to share it (regardless of the picture).

Talk about delicious and fresh! The strawberries were picked just the day before we made this. It tasted similar to a Fresh strawberry sorbet. I got the recipe out of my cookbook Taste of Home’s Contest Winning Annual Recipes 2006.

The ingredients are:

  • 5 cups fresh strawberries
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  1. Place the strawberries in a blender or food processor; cover and process until smooth. In a saucepan, heat sugar and water until sugar is dissolved; pour into blender. Add lemon juice; cover and process until combined.
  2. Pour into a shallow freezer container; cover and freeze for 4-6 hours or until almost frozen. Just before serving, whip mixture in a blender or food processor.

Yield: 6 servings

10 responses

  1. I do that all the time! I’m a terrible picture taker, but I hate it when I cook something really good that I want to share and the pics turn out horrible I get sad that I can’t post the recipe lol. Anyways, I think you did a great job with this pic especially for something that’s melting lol. This is perfect for summer, I can’t to try! 🙂

  2. Well, it sounds delicious. And no, you’re not the only one to worry about pictures not looking as good as thr dishes taste! Actually we have had a little ‘situation’ here for the past couple of months in that someone left a brand new camera outside in the rain (wasn’t me, no wasn’t me either…must have been the cat)….so now it only works on certain settings if you hold it at the right angle …on the right day…. Anyway, strawberry ice tastes like summer to me.

Leave a Reply

