Easter Craft-Sock Bunnies

I was watching my cousins little boy for him today and thought it would be fun if we all did an Easter craft together.  The kids (and I) had a lot of fun making these sock bunnies and I think that they turned out super cute! I got the idea out of my Phyllis Hoffman Celebrate magazine (my favorite magazine, and I subscribe to about 7 different ones).

Here is a list of items you will need. I already had about half of these items and the rest I went out and bought.

  • 1/3 cup rice
  • Pastel-colored adult spa sock (I found mine at Michael’s for $2)
  • Polyester fiberfill
  • 2 ponytail holders, same color as sock (dollar store)
  • Glue gun
  • Scissors
  • 1 (1-1/2-inch) white pom-pom
  • 2 white ponytail holders (for whiskers)
  • 2 plastic eyes
  • Pink felt
  • Pastel-colored ribbon

Step 1: Place rice in bottom of sock. Add one handful polyester fiberfill for bunny’s body. Secure with colored ponytail holder. Add polyester fiberfill to form bunny’s head. Secure the top of head with second colored ponytail holder. Glue pom-pom to the back of body to make the tail.

Step 2: Cut each white ponytail holder into 2 (1-1/2 inch) pieces. Apply a generous amount of glue in center of bunny’s face, and carefully place ends of whiskers in glue. Top glue with bunny shaped nose cut from pink felt.

Step 3: Glue eyes on bunny above nose and whiskers, and tie ribbon around bunny’s neck.

Step 4: Cut the sock’s cuff down the middle to form bunny’s ears. Cut tips of ears into a rounded shape.

6 responses

  1. What a great idea! I’ve found a few books on sock animals and I’ve been messing around with the idea of trying to do something with my kid’s baby socks–the miniature kind that never got dirty and I’m still wondering why we bought so many. Love this idea and the simplicity of it.

Leave a comment