Rigatoni with Tomato Cream Sauce

 

As it states in the title of this blog, I am a very busy mom. I am always on the look-out for recipes that I could throw together in a hurry. This recipe is definitely one of those to have on hand for those busy nights. Soccer didn’t get over till 7:00 tonight and I did not want to feed my kids fast food…….. I was able to get this Rigatoni with Tomato Cream Sauce made for them in less than 30 minutes and they really liked it. My son had his friend over for dinner and he even asked for seconds. I will be making this again for sure!

The ingredients are:

  • 16 oz. Rigatoni
  • 2 Tablespoons Butter
  • 1 clove Garlic, crushed
  • 14 oz. canned, Italian style stewed tomatoes
  • 1 Cup half and half
  • 6 fresh basil leaves, torn
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Saute garlic in butter. Add tomatoes. Break up tomatoes with a spoon while stirring. Cook for 10 minutes.
  2. In a separate pan boil half and half until reduced by half (5-10 minutes). Add tomato mixture. Add basil (I didn’t have fresh basil on hand so I sprinkled fresh parsley over the top), salt and pepper. Toss with rigatoni. (I didn’t end up using all of the rigatoni, next time I think I will double the sauce.)

 

2 responses

  1. Love it! So simple but so good. I usually use canned tomatoes too and it’s the fresh herbs that really elevate the dish.

Leave a comment